Acoustic Guitar Community

Welcome to the Acoustic Guitar Community.

I have been playing for about 5 years and am in this terrible loop of trying everything (and often nothing), not getting any better, and becoming frustrated which leads to not want to practice which leads to no improvement which leads to not want to practice and it just snowballs. I have tried scales, (trying to) memorizing the fretboard, playing with a metronome, playing without a metronome, you tube lessons, real lessons, and I have more books than the library (wanna buy some?)

I'm sure I'm not the first to feel this frustration. I want to learn to play but my head and fingers are not on the same page!

I know there's no magic formula but what worked for you??? I love to play but it may be added to my list of things that I gave up on.

Views: 144

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Hi John,

Let me ask you a question: what type of music would you most like to be able to play on the guitar?

Let me know that, and then I'll see if I can help you come up with a plan.
Maybe some other AG folks will have some good suggestions for you as well.

Best wishes, Lisa

PS - You're definitely not the first to feel this kind of frustration!
Recently, I have been trying fingerstyle. I've worked my way through most of Blackbird and am trying to work on Fast Car. I would love to be able to play John Prine'sSouvenirs and some flatpicking simple blues.

Thanks for the help!
John,

There's a lot out there for playing the blues!!!

Although, I do want some clarification. You mentioned learning Blackbird, working on Fast Car and Souvenirs. There are all fingerpicking songs but you mentioned flatpicking? I think you meant to say fingerpicking because flatpicking uses a pick.

What books do you have for blues guitar?

Acoustic Guitar puts out some good books one of which I'll mention
The Acoustic Guitar Fingerstyle Method: Starts with the basics like Travis picking and picks up as you work your way through