Acoustic Guitar Community

Welcome to the Acoustic Guitar Community.

Hello, my name is Ted and I just joined The Acoustic Guitar Community.  I am 29 years old and I started playing guitar again after a seven year hiatus.  For what reason a lot of college, work, and moving around issues became a priority and I put down the guitar.  Well anyway I went to see a Dave Matthews Band concert and I got the itch again.  I first bought a Martin OM-1E.  I liked it but it did have a rich tone or volume.  I walked into the music store again and this Taylor 414 grabbed my attention.  Wow, easy to play, works with any amp, the cutaway makes it feel almost like a Fender Strat.  I played it next to a Taylor 614 CE and to me the only difference between the two was that the 600 had some more fancy artwork to it.  In all I am extremely happy with my Taylor 414 CE, when I made my decision the owner of the store said I made the right choice and did not get all caught up with having a little more glam with my Taylor but more concerned with getting some more value.  These Taylors and Martins are not cheap.  I spent almost $1,900 for my Taylor 414 CE, and I think it was work every penny.  I would like to hear the opinions of others with their model of Taylor.  More importantly owners of the 414 CE.

Tags: Taylor

Views: 1186

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I'm 61 and have been at thei git thing almost 2 years.  I've played a few Taylors in shops and LOVE the playability.  My goal is to get good enough to DESERVE a Taylor.  You have just given me a HUGE case of ENVY and GAS (Guitar Acquisition Syndrom).  My wife is not going to like you.  Keep It Fun, Dean